Jonathan Swift, 1726

23 marzo 2015

As soon as I entered the house, my wife took me in her arms, and kissed me; at which, having not been used to the touch of that odious animal for so many years, I fell into a swoon for almost an hour.

At the time I am writing, it is five years since my last return to England. During the first year, I could not endure my wife or children in my presence; the very smell of them was intolerable; much less could I suffer them to eat in the same room. To this hour they dare not presume to touch my bread, or drink out of the same cup, neither was I ever able to let one of them take me by the hand.

The first money I laid out was to buy two young stone-horses, which I keep in a good stable; and next to them, the groom is my greatest favourite, for I feel my spirits revived by the smell he contracts in the stable. My horses understand me tolerably well; I converse with them at least four hours every day. They are strangers to bridle or saddle; they live in great amity with me and friendship to each other.

Gulliver’s travels »

Varcata la soglia, mia moglie mi si gettò al collo baciandomi ed io, che da tanti anni avevo perso il contatto con quell’animale repellente, persi i sensi per più di un’ora.

Mentre sto scrivendo, sono ormai passati cinque anni dal mio ritorno in Inghilterra; durante il primo anno non riuscivo a sopportare la presenza di mia moglie e dei figli, il loro odore era intollerabile. Mi era impossibile mangiare con loro, nella stessa stanza, e ancora oggi non si azzardano a toccare il mio pane o bere nel mio bicchiere e, quanto a me, non permetto a nessuno di loro di prendermi per mano.

La prima spesa che ho fatto, è stato l’acquisto di due giovani stalloni che ospito in una stalla sempre pulita. Dopo di loro il mio prediletto è il garzone, il cui odore di stalla mi rimette al mondo. I miei cavalli mi capiscono abbastanza bene e passo almeno quattro ore al giorno a parlare con loro. Cosa siano briglie e sella non se lo immaginano nemmeno, nutrono per me un affetto sincero e vera amicizia.

Rispondi

